In December, TUSM began an effort to hone its research vision by asking each of the four basic science departments and the Department of Public Health and Community Medicine (PHCM) to conduct an inventory of research strengths and vulnerabilities, and to reflect on their future. An executive committee, chaired by TUSM Dean Harris Berman and Sackler Dean Naomi Rosenberg, and that includes chairs and faculty representatives from the five departments, will begin to meet bi-weekly in March to review departmental plans and to develop a school-wide vision that builds on strengths and identifies gaps.
Phase 1

  • Purpose: Formulate department-based research vision. Conduct inventory of research strengths; summarize vulnerabilities of strengths
  • Who: Basic science departments and PHCM
  • How: Departments work independently
Phase 2

  • Purpose: Review department-based plans.  Identify common themes and develop a school-wide vision that builds on strengths and fills gaps.
  • Who: Executive committee, chaired by dean and vice dean, with chairs, faculty representatives, associate provost and EAD
  • How: Bi-weekly meetings to develop integrated plan
Phase 3

  • Purpose: Elicit faculty feedback on integrated plan
  • Who: Faculty at large
  • How: Will solicit feedback from faculty throughout the process. FAC may work to host meetings for all faculty to stimulate cross-school discussions.

Executive Committee Chairs:
Harris Berman, Dean, TUSM
Naomi Rosenberg, Dean, Sackler School of Graduate Biomedical Sciences

Executive Committee Members:
Olaf Dammann, Research Professor, Public Health and Community Medicine
Phil Haydon, Professor and Chair, Neuroscience
Phil Hinds, Chair, Developmental, Molecular and Chemical Biology
Carol Kumamoto, Professor, Microbiology
John Leong, Professor and Chair, Microbiology
Laura Liscum, Professor and Interim Chair, Integrative Physiology and Pathobiology
Jamie Maguire, Assistant Professor, Neuroscience
Aviva Must, Professor and Chair, Public Health and Community Medicine
Brian Schaffhausen, Professor, Developmental, Molecular and Chemical Biology
Marsha Semuels, Executive Administrative Dean
Henry Wortis, Professor, Integrative Physiology and Pathobiology

Meeting Notes:
March 5, 2014
March 19, 2014
March 26, 2014

Meeting Materials:
Vision Statements and Research Strengths
Work Plan

Final Report