Family Medicine

M18 students celebrating Match Day with Family Medicine faculty

M18 students celebrating Match Day with Family Medicine faculty

Family Medicine News

Society of Teachers of Family Medicine (December 2017)

Faculty and staff from Tufts Family Medicine will travel to Austin, TX in February 2018 to attend the Medical Student Education Conference organized by the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine (STFM). Drs. Deborah Erlich, Amy Lee, Wayne Altman and Clinton Pong will present on their research.

Faculty Promotions (December 2017)

Congratulations to the following faculty who were promoted to Associate Professor (Clinician/Educator).
Deborah Erlich, MD, MMedEd, Victoria Hayes, MD, Honor MacNaughton, MD, Greg Sawin, MD, MPH, and Craig Schneider, MD.
Congratulations as well to Warren Bodine, DO, CAQSM, for his promotion to Clinical Associate Professor.

Tufts Student Service Scholars (November 2017)

Damian Archer, MD, has been appointed the new Associate Director of the Tufts Student Service Scholars program at Tufts University School of Medicine. Dr. Archer is a board certified Family Medicine physician. He is a Bahamian national and 1998 Bahamas National Merit Scholar. He attended University of the West Indies, Bahamas Clinical Campus. He completed his residency at St. Luke's Family Practice Residency Program at Aurora St. Luke's Hospital in Milwaukee, WI as chief resident in July of 2011. Later that year he joined North Shore Community Health in Salem, MA. In May of 2017 he was promoted to Chief Medical Officer. He also serves as Director of the Medication Assisted Treatment Program.

American Academy of Family Physicians Conference (July 2017)

Kansas City 2017This year, Tufts Family Medicine sponsored 11 students to attend the annual National Conference of Family Medicine Residents & Medical Students in Kansas City. At this conference, students have the opportunity to attend workshops, meet other Family Medicine students from around the country, and gather information about residency programs.

Dr. Wayne Altman - New Jaharis Family Chair of Family Medicine (July 2017)

Wayne Altman, M.D. has been selected as the new chair Jaharis Family Chair of Family Medicine at Tufts University School of Medicine. Wayne will continue to build on the strong foundation in the department and will collaborate with other leaders at the medical school to advance the overall mission. Wayne graduated from Brandeis University, earned his M.D. degree from the University of Massachusetts Medical School, and completed residency training at the University of Massachusetts/Hahnemann. Wayne has received 17 teaching awards during his 19 years at TUSM, including the Milton and Natalie Zucker Prize for Teaching Innovation, the Special Faculty Recognition Award, the Dean’s Outstanding Mentorship Award, the Outstanding Teaching in the Clinical Sciences Award, and the Dr. Jack Mitus Special Faculty Recognition Award. We are grateful to Dr. Randy Wertheimer for 9 years of serving as the Jaharis Family Chair of Family Medicine. 

Dr. Beth Wilson - New Chair of Family Medicine at Maine Medical Center (July 2017)

Elisabeth Wilson, MD, MPH, MS-HPEd, was appointed the new Chair in the Department of Family Medicine at Maine Medical Center. Dr. Wilson joins us after spending over 10 years at the University of California - San Francisco. She attended Tufts School of Medicine before completing her residency at the University of California - San Francisco. Her medical interests include serving the underserved. We welcome Dr. Wilson to our team!

Family Medicine Award Winners (May 2017)

Congratulations to our students who took home awards at Tufts University School of Medicine graduation awards night! Lanie Hill, M17, was given the Dr. Toby Wesselhoeft Family Medicine Award. Lanie is also part of our inaugural Tufts Student Service Scholars Program class of 2017.
Congratulations also to Dr. Clinton Pong who was given the Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching!

Primary Care Precepting Conference (April 2017)

Miguel Concepcion receiving his awardFamily Medicine along with Internal Medicine, Pediatrics, and the Office of Educational Affairs held its 19th annual Primary Care Precepting Conference Heather Jones receiving her awardin April 2017. Every year, faculty are recognized for their efforts in teaching. This year, Dr. Heather Jones received the Dr. Ylisabeth “Libby” Bradshaw Teaching Award. Dr. Miguel Concepcion received the Dr. Robert “Toby” Wesselhoeft III Teaching Award. Congratulations to both!

Faculty Wins Award (April 2017)

Keith Nokes, MD, MPH, has been selected as this year's recipient of the Tisch College of Civic Life and Tufts University School of Medicine Community Service Learning Faculty Award. This award was established to honor a faculty member who demonstrates outstanding commitment to civic engagement in medical education. Congratulations, Dr. Nokes!

Family Medicine Contact Information:
Department Administrator
Jessica De Jesus

Mobile MediCards

Social media icons.

concise reference materials to improve patient care, now available on your smartphone

Center for Information Mastery

An electronic tablet user touches the tablet screen.

incorporating the principles of evidence-based medicine in day-to-day patient care