Mark Aisner, MD Award

The Mark Aisner, MD Award for Excellence in Teaching Physical Diagnosis was established in 1988 by former students, colleagues, patients, and friends of Mark Aisner, MD in recognition of his distinguished contributions to TUSM as the course director for Physical Diagnosis (1946-1977), and in honor of his prestigious career in education, research, and clinical practice in Internal Medicine, Cardiology and Physiology. The purpose of this award is to foster and enhance the teaching of physical diagnosis at TUSM and at its affiliated hospitals as exemplified by Dr. Aisner throughout his illustrious sixty-five years in medicine.


  • 2017-2018: Hilda Tina Gartley, M.D. (Pediatrics); Kevin Strong, M.D. (Pediatrics)
  • 2016-2017: Mihaela Tiru, M.D. (Internal Medicine)
  • 2015-2016: George Maxted, M.D. (Family Medicine); Michael Gibbons, M.D. (Internal Medicine); Peter Harbage, MD (Internal Medicine)
  • 2014-2015: Angela Healy, M.D. (Internal Medicine) and Stewart Mackie, M.D. (Pediatrics)
  • 2013-2014: James Bartz, M.D. (Internal Medicine)
  • 2012-2013: Steven “Sandy” Zimmerman, M.D. (Medicine) and Brendan Kelly, M.D. (Medicine-Pediatrics)
  • 2011-2012: Joe Rencic, M.D. (Internal Medicine)
  • 2010-2011: William Liaw, M.D. (Internal Medicine)
  • 2009-2010: Brendan Kelly, M.D. (Medicine/Pediatrics)
  • 2008-2009: Lemuel Shattuck Hospital Physical Diagnosis Team
  • 2007-2008: Edward Parsons, M.D. (Internal Medicine)
  • 2006-2007: Elisabeth Wilder, M.D. (Internal Medicine)
  • 2005-2006: Laurence Conway, M.D. (Cardiology)
  • 2004-2005: Ottavio Nardone, M.D. (Internal Medicine)
  • 2003-2004: Daniel Coleman, M.D. (Internal Medicine - Pulmonology)
  • 2002-2003: Brien Barnewolt, M.D. (Emergency Medicine)
  • 2001-2002: James Warth, M.D. (Internal Medicine - Hematology/Oncology)
  • 2000-2001: William Garvin, M.D. (Internal Medicine)

For more information, please contact the Office of Educational Affairs at 617-636-2191.