Skip to main content
Tufts University School of Medicine

Alumni Awards

The Tufts University Alumni Association began the Tufts University Alumni Awards Program in 1941 to honor accomplished individuals for their service to their profession, their communities, and to Tufts.

2017 Tufts University School of Medicine Award Recipients

The following are two Tufts University School of Medicine award winners:


Dr. Tom Hedges, M75, M84

Dr. Thomas Reed Hedges III, M75, is director of neuro-ophthalmology at New England Eye Center and has been on the staff of Tufts Medical Center since 1981. He is professor of ophthalmology and neurology at Tufts University School of Medicine and serves on the Tufts Medical Alumni Association, of which he was president from 2014 to 2016. Dr. Hedges graduated from Duke University, Rutgers University, and Tufts University School of Medicine. He completed his ophthalmology residency at Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary, where he completed a fellowship in ophthalmic pathology and was the first chief resident in 1979. He was a Heed Fellow in neuro-ophthalmology at the University of California, San Francisco.

Dr. Hedges served as a North American Neuro-Ophthalmology Society representative for the Executive Council of the American Academy of Ophthalmology and has taught many courses at the annual meetings. He received a senior honor award from the American Academy of Ophthalmology in 2000. He has authored or co-authored more than 100 peer-reviewed manuscripts, book chapters, and review articles. He wrote Consultation in Ophthalmology, which was published in 1987.

Dr. Hedges' research interests include the use of optical coherence tomography and electrophysiology in neuro-ophthalmology. He has participated in several multi-center trials and National Institutes of Health review committees. During his tenure at Tufts, he has trained many medical students, residents, and fellows. Most of his fellows have assumed academic positions around the country and in other parts of the world. He was elected to the medical honor society, AOA, by students in 1989. He has received the Residents Award for Teaching Excellence three times. He has collaborated in research in several countries, especially in Guatemala, Venezuela, and Cuba. He has been a visiting professor or guest speaker at many institutions in the United States and abroad.

YOUNG ALUMNI ACHIEVEMENT — Dr. Genevra "Gevvie" Stone, M14

Dr. Genevra "Gevvie" Stone

Dr. Genevra 'Gevvie' Stone, M14, is a two-time Olympic rower, representing the USA in the women’s single at the 2012 and 2016 Olympics. She learned to row in high school with the Winsor School team on the Charles River. Gevvie went on to earn an A.B. from Princeton, where she was a member of the 2006 NCAA Champion Eight. During the summers of 2006 and 2007, she won the Under-23 World Championships in the Eight and Quad, respectively.

After failing to make the Beijing Olympic team, Gevvie began medical school at Tufts and started rowing the single, first for fun and then more seriously. Coached by her father, she trained on the Charles River. The first time she represented the USA was in the single at the 2010 World Cup. Since then, she has been the USA’s entry in the women’s single on five senior national teams, including eight World Cups (earning three World Cup medals), three World Championships, and two Olympics (earning a silver medal in Rio). With her seventh win, last fall (2016), she tied the record for the most wins in the Championship Single event at the Head of the Charles Regatta.

Throughout her rowing career, Gevvie has enjoyed sharing her love and knowledge of the sport. She has coached at camps, at the Winsor School, and at Harvard University. In addition, she has presented at a number of rowing workshops and numerous rowing programs, including the Tufts rowing team.

Gevvie graduated from Tufts University School of Medicine in 2014. She will begin a residency in emergency medicine this summer. After her residency, she plans to pursue a fellowship in sports medicine.

Tufts University School of Medicine Award Recipients Since 1941

The following are Tufts University School of Medicine alumni who have been recognized for their achievements since the Tufts University Alumni Awards Program began in 1941:

Full Name & Suffix Year Award
Dr. Tom Hedges, M75 2017 Distinguished Service Award
Genevra "Gevvie" Stone, MD, M14 2017 Young Alumni Achievement Award
Nahid Bhadelia, MD, MALD, J99, F04, M05 2016 Active Citizenship & Public Service Award
Mark D. Pearlmutter, MD 2016 Distinguished Service to Tufts
Sean B. Carroll, PhD, SK83 2015 Distinguished Achievement Award
Akudo Anyanwu Ikemba, MD, M02 2015 Distinguished Achievement
Randal (Randy) C. Christensen, MD, MPH, M95 2014 Citizenship & Public Service Award
Mary Y. Lee, MD, MA, MS, J75, M83 2014 Distinguished Serve Award
Katherine Luzuriaga, MD, M84 2014 Achievement Award
Steven J. Phillips, MD, M66, A89P 2012 Distinguished Achievement Award
David S. Rosenthal, MD, M63, AG88P 2011 Distinguished Achievement Award
Sherwood L. Gorbach, MD, M62, J84P 2009 Distinguished Service Award
Lawrence K. Altman, MD, M62 2008 Distinguished Service Award
John C. Richmond, MD, M76 2008 Distinguished Service Award
Bernard E. Maney, MD, A49, M53, J81P 2007 Lifetime Service Award
Elena M. Massarotti, MD, J80, M84 2006 Distinguished Service Award
Donald E. Wilson, MD, MACP, M62, H08 2006 Distinguished Service Award
Gloria White-Hammond, MD, M76, H06 2005 Distinguished Service Award
Roseanna H. Means, MD, M81 2004 Distinguished Service Award
Paul A. Brown, M64, M93P 2002  
William M. McDermott, A53, M58, AG54, A84P 1999 Lifetime Service Award
Robert A. Sears, MD, A50, M54, A83P 1997  
Philip E. McCarthy, M59, M97P 1996 Lifetime Service Award
Barbara A. Rockett, MD, M57, M90P, M93P, J96P 1995  
Francis A. D'Ambrosio, MD, M45, J80P, M80P, M88P 1991  
Henry H. Banks, MD, M45, AG74P 1990  
Bernard A. Berman, MD, A45, M48, J83P 1986  
Elias C. Dow, M53, J85P, M85P, M87P 1985  
Francis A. Avola, MD, A41, M44 1981  
Brian M. Golden, MD, A61, M65, A89P 1981  
Fred G. Arrigg, MD, M47, A75P, A77P, M78P, M79P, M82P 1978  
Farahe Maloof, MD, M45 1978  
Jane F. Desforges, MD, M45 1975 Lifetime Service Award
Gerard Desforges, MD, M45 1975 Lifetime Service Award
Thomas A. Martin, MD, M32 1971  
Robert E. McAfee, M60, M87P 1966 Distinguished Achievement Award
Francis P. McCarthy, MD, M05 1966  
H. Spencer Glidden, MD, A27, M31, AG62P 1963  
Helen C. Young, MD, M49 1963  
Lawrence R. Dame, MD, A23, M27 1959  
Philip E. Meltzer, D15, M18 1957  
George W. Papen, MD, A15, M16 1957  
Nathan Brody, MD, A29, M33 1956  
Anna Q. Churchill, MD, M17 1955  
J. Laurence Golden, MD, M28, A55P, J59P, D61P, J61P, A61P, J63 1953  
Frank H. Dunbar, MD, M00 1952  
Stanley H. Osborn, MD, M14, H42 1951  
Edward M. Hodgkins, MD, M15 1950  
Harry Blotner, MD, M24, A60P, M64P 1948  
Alonzo K. Paine, MD, M02, H47 1945  
George G. Averill, MD, M96, H41 1944  
A. Warren Stearns, MD, A09, M10, H43, A39P 1943  
Christopher J. Duncan, MD, M28 1942  
Louis E. Phaneuf, MD, M13 1942  
Submit a Class Note for publication in Tufts Medicine Magazine through the Tufts Online Community or via email. Please include your graduation year and school affiliation(s).

Office of Development and Alumni Relations

136 Harrison Avenue
Boston, MA 02111
Phone 617-636-6770
Fax 617-636-2721