Tufts Announces Springboard Funding Awards

Congratulations to the individuals and teams from the School of Medicine who were selected for awards
Tufts School of Medicine sign in front of the Med Ed Building

The Office of the Provost, Office of the Vice Provost for Research (OVPR), and Tufts Medical Center recently announced the award decisions for the fifth cycle of Springboard Awards. The School of Medicine is proud to share that five projects with TUSM faculty members' participation were selected this year. 

The Springboard grants represent a significant investment in the future vitality of Tufts as a thriving R1, very high research activity university. In keeping with this cycle’s emphasis on supporting Tufts’ efforts to be an antiracist institution, many of the projects focused on racial inequities and/or the promotion of antiracist interventions.

Please join us in congratulating the following individuals and teams who were selected for awards:

Engaging Stakeholders in New England to Improve Antibiotic Stewardship Practices in Jails and Prisons

Team Lead: Alysse Wurcel, (Tufts MC)
Team Members: Gabriela Andujar-Vazquez (Tufts MC), Maureen Campion (Tufts MC), Shira Doron (Tufts MC), and Jacob van den Berg (TUSM)

Characterization of a Novel Inter-tissue Muscle-to-brain Signal in C. elegans

Principal Investigator: Peter Chang-Hwa Juo (TUSM)

Produce Prescriptions on Maternal and Birth Outcomes: A Food is Medicine Intervention Among Pregnant Women

Team Lead: Fang Fang Zhang (Friedman)

Team Members: Sara Folta (Friedman), Perrie O’Tierney-Ginn (Tufts MC), and Chenchen Sun (Tufts MC)

Catalyzing Community Change: A Qualitative Study of Black Women Leadership Characteristics

Team Lead: Sara Folta (Friedman)
Team Members: Linda Hudson (TUSM) and Peter Levine (Tisch)