Skip to main content
Tufts University School of Medicine

LCME accreditation

Jointly funded by the Association of American Medical Colleges and the American Medical Association, the Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME) reviews allopathic medical schools in the United States and Canada every eight years. In order to maintain accreditation, a medical education program must meet the accreditation standards established by the LCME.

Tufts University School of Medicine (TUSM) engages in continuous quality improvement by monitoring compliance with LCME standards on an ongoing basis and by performing a formal self-evaluation. This evaluation includes an exhaustive review of every aspect of the M.D. training program and the overall academic environment at the medical school.

In 2020, TUSM embarked on a self-study process in preparation for an LCME reaccreditation site visit schedule for April 25-27, 2022. An institutional self-study task force (see below) comprising faculty, students, and staff is evaluating extensive data collected about the medical school program and student satisfaction. As part of the process, students create and administer a survey to all M.D. students and then independently analyze the results.

To learn more, visit the LCME website or contact the Office of Educational Affairs (617-636-6934).

Tufts Self Study Task Force

Helen Boucher, MD, Dean ad interim, Chair


  • Scott Epstein, MD, Dean for Education Affairs, Faculty Accreditation Lead
  • Amy Kuhlik, MD, Dean of Students
  • Joyce Sackey, MD, Dean for Multicultural Affairs and Global Health, Associate Provost, Chief Diversity Officer Health Sciences Campus
  • Tom Malone, Executive Associate Dean
  • Linden Hu, MD, Vice Dean, Research
  • Aviva Must, PhD, Dean, Public Health and Professional Degree Programs
  • Doug Sawyer, MD (Dean, Maine Track)
  • Anne Mosenthal, MD (Dean, Lahey Hospital and Medical Center)
  • Ann Maderer, Project Manager, Office of Educational Affairs, LCME Coordinator


  • Jeff Marchant, PhD, Senior Faculty, Curriculum Comm Chair (Medical Education)
  • Amy Lee, MD, Vice Chair Curriculum Comm (Family Medicine)
  • Laura Baecher-Lind, MD, MPH (Obstetrics and Gynecology, Tufts Medical Center)
  • Taimur Dad, MD (Medicine, Tufts Medical Center)
  • Neha Sharma, DO (Psychiatry, Tufts Medical Center)
  • Robert Trowbridge, MD (Medicine, Maine Medical Center)
  • James Bartz, MD (Medicine, Newton Wellesley)
  • Okeanis Vaou, MD (Neurology, St. Elizabeth’s Medical Center)
  • Deb Erlich, MD (Family Medicine)
  • Lilian Chen MD (Surgery, Tufts Medical Center)
  • Mary Brown, MD (Pediatrics, Tufts Medical Center)
  • Jamie Maguire, PhD (Neuroscience)  
  • Richard Glickman-Simon MD (Public Health and Community Medicine)
  • John Leong, MD, PhD (Microbiology)
  • Mike Tarnoff, MD (Surgery, Tufts Medical Center)
  • Peter Brodeur, PhD (Medical Education)


  • Spencer Scott, M21
  • LeAnn Louis, M21
  • Meghan Murphy, M22
  • Tony Laracuente, M22


  • Caitlin Fai, MD (Class of 2020)
  • Ana Lopes Johnson, MD (Class of 2001)
  • Tejas Mehta, MD (Class of  1992)